<< Back to General Forum   Search

Posts 1 - 7 of 7   
Diplo Rule: Giftblocking: 5/28/2020 17:20:47


Svitz 
Level 39
Report
Hey so I've been a scenario maker and diplo host for many years, and have come upon a recurring problem with the "giftblocking" rule: Nobody seems to agree on a definition, and arguments always pop up in chat when its called out. Instead of just writing "No giftblocking" I was thinking of defining it in the rules, but a few issues came up. Anyone have any input?

1. Is gifting a tile to a player who is also at war with your opponent giftblocking?

2. Is a tile gift that is far from the front lines still a giftblock?

3. If it is on the front lines, does it have to deny the advancement of troops to another area to be a giftblock?

((I bring this up because commerce has brought in an issue where players who are losing wars gift their farthest back tiles to other players for gold support (see: gold-gifting mod) that they hope will turn the tide of the war. Then when their enemy is like, "Hey! I was planning on owning that land!", the accused says its not in fear of conquest yet so he can do what he wants with it. Thoughts?))
Diplo Rule: Giftblocking: 5/28/2020 17:24:45


Svitz 
Level 39
Report
Personally, my responses are "1: no. 2: no. 3: yes.", meaning that my definition for giftblocking has historically been "Gifting a non-at-war player to the front lines in such a way that blocks the opponent's advancement into a bonus"

But again, I'm here to be suaded.
Diplo Rule: Giftblocking: 5/28/2020 17:31:29


krinid 
Level 59
Report
Agree with you on No, No, Yes.
Diplo Rule: Giftblocking: 5/29/2020 03:44:07


{TLA} LND 
Level 57
Report
I also say no, no, yes.
It is only a giftblock if it prevents player X from attacking player Y, and the gifted player Z is not at war with X.
Diplo Rule: Giftblocking: 5/29/2020 03:52:10

{N.W.} Hi
Level 59
Report
I als say no, no, yes
Diplo Rule: Giftblocking: 5/29/2020 03:52:16

{N.W.} Hi
Level 59
Report
Also*
Diplo Rule: Giftblocking: 5/29/2020 04:03:42


Liechtensteiner 
Level 60
Report
Yes, I agree that it should be no, no, yes
Posts 1 - 7 of 7