<< Back to General Forum   Search

Posts 1 - 9 of 9   
Unsuccesful transfer: 9/13/2013 02:51:27

Sanysal
Level 44
Report
I was playing in a normal fog game and someone transfered 0 armies from a fogged territory to a visible territory and i could see a "an unkwon number of armies transferred from *fogged territory* to *visible territory*". The "unkown number" i obviously know is 0 since the number of armies didn't increase, because due to the settings of the game, the player had 0 income and only 1 army in that territory and because the transfer was to an enemy territory. According to the fog settings: yes i should see this; but it still seems rather weird. I'm not saying it should be changed or anything i'd just like some opinions on the matter. It just seems to give some unnecessary and maybe unfair information in some cases, since i think there is no reason i should know that player has the fogged territory. In this specific game it was useless information though.

Edited with game link: http://warlight.net/MultiPlayer?GameID=4830132
It's not over yet though, and once it is the fog is gone and you can't see what i saw so i saw no reason to put the link. Either way there it is.

PS: don't judge too harshly on the lottery game; thanks :)

Edited 9/13/2013 03:15:47
Unsuccesful transfer: 9/13/2013 03:00:18


Motocross5800 
Level 50
Report
Game link?
Unsuccesful transfer: 9/13/2013 04:10:13

Sanysal
Level 44
Report
Actually i got a few things wrong in my first post: first of all that player didn't have (most likely, i'll confirm once the game is over) the territory from where the transfer came and second it counts as a succesful transfer, if i put the cursor over the order i get the following information: "Succsefully transfered (fog) armies. [If it's succesful according to the fog table it should tell me the number of armies transfering] / Original order sent an unkown number of armies. / Mode: attack or transfer [then why does it count as a transfer if it was to an enemy territory since it's a FFA?] / Attack teammates: false / Player: xxx"

So summing up, a player issued an attack/transfer order from a fogged (for me) territory he didn't have to a visible territory (for me) not of his own either and i see a succesful "unkown" armies transfer which is obviously 0.

PS: and i forgot to mention it's a multi attack game, but then again he had 1 army and 0 income, of that, i'm sure.
Unsuccesful transfer: 9/13/2013 13:05:22


Cheery Dog
Level 57
Report
He was probably attacked from another connecting territory (also in fog) before that attack went ahead, and therefore lost how ever many armies were meant to be attacking, and it ended up being a 0.
Unsuccesful transfer: 9/13/2013 15:47:43

Sanysal
Level 44
Report
I don't think that's possible, i'm sorry i'm making a mess of it but i'll try to describe the settings of the map in a simple way so everyone knows a bit what's going on (though it's probably better to wait for the game to end so you can see, sorry for making the thread before that i didn't think it would be so complicated). Pretty much the map is one territory in the center and 3 circles around it each circle with 4 territories. The one who starts in the center has a massive income and the rest have 0 income and 1 starting army in their territory. The player who issued the (un)succesful transfer has been eliminated (that's what makes me think he didn't own the territory that issued the strange order), so he wasn't in the center, which means he necessarily had 1 (0 useful) armies.

The territory where that order came from was in the middle circle, i'm in the outter circle (but not directly connected to the territory that order came from, hence, fogged), and since he was eliminated he was (most likely, since there is multi-attack but the person in the center probably didn't notice or he would've finished everything in the first turn) in the inner circle.
Unsuccesful transfer: 9/13/2013 19:08:45

Hennns
Level 58
Report
This is actually very simple, if you look on settings you`ll see that multi-atacc is enabled. When you play with multi-atacc you can issue ataccs or transfer from every territory, even if you don`t have it. That`s what this player did, issued transfers from territories he didn\t have, simple as that.
You can read more about multi-atacc here: http://wiki.warlight.net/index.php/Multi_Attack
(the game is over now btw)
Unsuccesful transfer: 9/14/2013 03:08:14

Sanysal
Level 44
Report
Right, i hadn't thought about that, i knew but didn't really connect it. Then i guess it's not giving any information, still I wonder why it's considered a succesful transfer, but that's just curiosity it doesn't have any use. Thanks for pointing it out.
Unsuccesful transfer: 9/14/2013 13:30:37

Hennns
Level 58
Report
No problem :)
It isn`t considered a successful transfer, if you hover your mouse over it you`ll see it (among other things) say; "order could not be executed". I`m must say I`m not sure how this appear in-game, but I think it also will say order could not be executed.
Unsuccesful transfer: 9/14/2013 22:43:48

Sanysal
Level 44
Report
True, now it says it couldn't be executed, but the game considered it (at least for me) a succesful transfer while the game was still ongoing [putting the mouse over the order is how i got the information i put on my second post and noticed it was actually a succesful transfer, i just mistakenly assumed it was unseccesful at first because no armies got transfered, but it still said "an unkown number of armies transfered..." on the short descrpition of the order (without pointing at it)].
Thanks anyway, i guess it's just a curiosity now, maybe interesting for those who know about programming.
Posts 1 - 9 of 9