<< Back to General Forum   Search

Posts 1 - 7 of 7   
to charge or not to charge, that is the question: 9/12/2015 16:04:19


ps 
Level 60
Report
https://www.warlight.net/MultiPlayer?GameID=9436498


i had knowledge of 2 of his picks, i had safety, i was weary he would charge into siple and challenge SA before i could finish it, so i decided to charge into siple and blockade it.

so two questions up for discussion:

1) was my charging in a mistake? should i have focused on getting a territory first? that would have given him enough time to secure antartica before i could break into it.

2) after getting foot in siple, i had 6 to 2 stack advantage, he assumed i would not deploy at all in siple, to finish my safe area instead, so he invested all in taking back siple, in fact succeeding. i was betting he wouldnt dare to try it, assuming i would guess that and counter him deploying hard on siple while finishing my bonus slowly or blockading it after % move back on last action after delays. i asked him about it on the chat later on and he claims even if i deployed it all in siple his +4 would be enough to break siple before i finished my area or got card piece. would i be able to keep foot in siple minimally expanding and waiting for card piece?

Edited 9/12/2015 16:09:35
to charge or not to charge, that is the question: 9/12/2015 16:22:43


Master Ryiro 
Level 62
Report
should've taken south america on turn 2 knowing that he's not in siple
even if he gets antartica,he won't get more than 8 income since there is no other 3 income bonus available and going for 12 income in 2 turns in WR in that distribution could've costed him the game,its something highly unlikely to happen and even if it does,your position was better
staying on 5 income for initial 2 turns is not something you can recover form,if your opponent is good,no matter how good your position is,any income beats 5 income unless you eliminate him from one of his starts
to charge or not to charge, that is the question: 9/12/2015 18:29:21


professor dead piggy 
Level 59
Report
The rules are quite clear. Get a bonus by turn2, no exceptions. Charging in is not compatible with getting a bonus on turn2 so it was a mistake. You could try to hold siple with full deploys and get a bonus on turn 4. I think you would be in a bad position on turn 6 after the card piece gets played but with a blockade somewhere along the way it might work. IDK is my answer to the second question.
to charge or not to charge, that is the question: 9/12/2015 19:26:15


Nogals 
Level 58
Report
wait so if he got S america on turn 2 he is still 9 vs 12 early game
to charge or not to charge, that is the question: 9/12/2015 20:54:44


master of desaster 
Level 65
Report
it's highly unlikely that motd gets 12 income in 2 turns. he would Need huge luck and would have to gamble too. worst case for motd he got 9vs5 income when he Plays that risky. so going for SA should be safe
to charge or not to charge, that is the question: 9/12/2015 22:01:54


Kenny • apex 
Level 59
Report
He can take South America and all-in Antarctica next turn, order priority will stop Antarctica. Or he could let his opponent take Antarctica and go for Indonesia, making it 12 v 9 for 1 turn (he can defend) then 12 v 13 the next turn. He can then use his Iran pick to stop WR from being taken.

I don't really like either's picks for this map. I think Canada combo/boston triple are far better pickstyles.
to charge or not to charge, that is the question: 9/12/2015 23:55:15


Vernita Green
Level 56
Report
What piggy said. Except, there are exceptions. But this wasn't one of them.
Posts 1 - 7 of 7