<< Back to General Forum   Search

Posts 1 - 13 of 13   
rules clarification: "taking a territory": 2/27/2012 22:43:51

not_spartacus 
Level 3
Report
I need to take a territory to qualify to get card/s. If I take a territory but it is taken off me before the end of the turn does that count? I had always assumed not, but the wiki isn't clear on that point.
rules clarification: "taking a territory": 2/27/2012 23:11:02


Richard Sharpe 
Level 59
Report
That counts as taking a territory. All that matters is that you conquer a single territory, regardless of whether you hold it or have a net positive territories after the turn is complete.
rules clarification: "taking a territory": 2/28/2012 04:57:26


[中国阳朔]Chaos 
Level 49
Report
In team games, you can take a friendly territory as well, which can be very useful to secure card pieces with minimum troops required
rules clarification: "taking a territory": 2/28/2012 05:05:16

Segrain
Level 21
Report
|> In team games, you can take a friendly territory as well,

, you just wouldn't get cards for that.
rules clarification: "taking a territory": 2/28/2012 05:30:17


[中国阳朔]TexasJohn 
Level 35
Report
No, you definitely do. Obviously you cannot take your own territories, but on maps like Medium Earth, there are a few territories that aren't connected to any bonus. Alaska, Hawaii, Korea, and Japan. Often we will arrange to take those, so that we can get a card while only using 2 armies to take out a friendly 1 army.
rules clarification: "taking a territory": 2/28/2012 06:14:31

Segrain
Level 21
Report
|> When you take an *enemy* or *neutral* territory, at the end of that turn you will receive a piece of a card.

That's what wiki [says](http://wiki.warlight.net/index.php/Cards#Receiving_Cards), and that's how it actually works.
rules clarification: "taking a territory": 2/28/2012 06:31:52


Muppet
Level 12
Report
Have to agree with Segrain on this one, though I've often heard of people doing it.

Here's a test:

http://warlight.net/SinglePlayer.aspx?TemplateID=161370
rules clarification: "taking a territory": 2/28/2012 06:50:04


Perrin3088 
Level 44
Report
http://warlight.net/MultiPlayer.aspx?GameID=2194726

taking a friendly territory *does not* give a card piece.

it only works in FFA's with truces.. because trucee's are still enemies.
rules clarification: "taking a territory": 2/28/2012 08:40:32


[中国阳朔]Chaos 
Level 49
Report
interesting, I was almost sure it used to work, i guess there was always another territory (non-friendly) involved.
rules clarification: "taking a territory": 2/28/2012 09:10:49

not_spartacus 
Level 3
Report
anyone like to volunteer to add this knowledge to the wiki?
rules clarification: "taking a territory": 2/28/2012 09:44:52


Perrin3088 
Level 44
Report
as Segrain pointed out... it's already in the Wiki...
and that post hasn't been modified since November..
rules clarification: "taking a territory": 2/29/2012 01:03:36

not_spartacus 
Level 3
Report
It's already in the wiki, except that it doesn't define "take" (which in this instance means "take but not neccessarily hold".)
rules clarification: "taking a territory": 2/29/2012 07:04:09


Perrin3088 
Level 44
Report
while I disagree with the necessity.. *it made sense to me initially* I can see where someone could become confused with the current meaning..

"When you successfully attack and capture an enemy or neutral territory, at the end of that turn you will receive a piece of a card, regardless of whether you lose it later that turn. You can't get more, no matter how many territories you take."

that should suffice, yes?
Posts 1 - 13 of 13