<< Back to General Forum   Search

Posts 1 - 18 of 18   
a bit confused here: 4/23/2011 19:58:32

Drosselmeyer
Level 44
Report
this was a risk style game. can someone explain how the "extra armie for every 4 territories" bonus in this game works? i cant really figure it out
http://warlight.net/MultiPlayer.aspx?GameID=1290869
a bit confused here: 4/23/2011 20:07:30


Troll 
Level 14
Report
The box you check for this setting when organizing a game reads:

Give extra armies for territories (once minimum exceeded),

so if your base income was 3, you would have to hold 16 territories to gain an extra army ((3x4)+4, base income x armies for territories setting plus the armies for territories) from the setting.

16 would result in 4 income (assuming no bonuses held)
20 would be 5
24 would be 6 etc


I hope that helps.
a bit confused here: 4/23/2011 21:44:08


NoZone 
Level 6
Report
What? That is extremely confusing. No wonder I have never seen the "extra armies" kick in. That setting is very non-intuitive. As written in the settings I assumed that I would get an extra army for every X number of territories that did not make up a complete bonus.

Troll if this is as you say, it is a useless setting since it would so rarely result in any armies being gained.
a bit confused here: 4/23/2011 21:53:46

The Impaller 
Level 9
Report
I agree with NoZone that it is highly non-intuitive. I think the expected result when you set it up as "extra army per 4 territories" is that you actually get an extra army for every 4 territories. Extra meaning added to the base amount of armies you start with.

If you start with 5 armies base each turn, and you control 8 territories, you should make 7 per turn. That is the expected result and what makes the most sense. That you would need to control 24 territories to get 1 more army out of it makes very little sense and makes the setting near unusable.

I don't know why the base amount of armies you start with would factor in to this at all. That doesn't make much sense.
a bit confused here: 4/23/2011 21:56:06

Fizzer 
Level 58

Warzone Creator
Report
You either get the base income, or income from territories - whichever is larger.

|> it is a useless setting since it would so rarely result in any armies being gained.

This statement is dependent on the settings being used. If you get one army per territory, then it will matter as soon as you get 6 territories. This clearly isn't rare - almost every game I've ever played results in someone getting 6 territories at some point in the game.

You need to qualify your statement with the settings being used for it to be meaningful. For example, you could have said "Getting an extra army for every 10 territories is useless since it would rarely result in any armies being gained."
a bit confused here: 4/23/2011 22:05:18

Drosselmeyer
Level 44
Report
ok thanks guys. i tried but couldn't figure it out myself. that makes sense and i dont particularly car for it. like most of you said, its a little too confusing for someone to incorporate that into their strategy
i suppose it only kicks into effect on the small maps like the one i linked here
a bit confused here: 4/23/2011 23:26:12


NoZone 
Level 6
Report
Fizzer,
Of course you are correct that I was exaggerating. However, I do really think that you should put some sort of note on the setting that it is only in effect if the armies per territory bonus only kicks in if it exceeds your armies per turn gained from base plus bonuses. I have repeatedly tried to set up games with the extra territory option only to have it not work the way I wanted, but this is because I put in a base number of armies of five and had the extra armies setting at four or five territories per army. So it never kicked in. However, now that I know how it works I can set a game with really low base armies or extra armies for every couple of territories.
Constructively yours,
NoZone
a bit confused here: 4/24/2011 06:01:35


Perrin3088 
Level 44
Report
what I find humorous abotu this post.. is that any experienced risk players.. this works "exactly like risk"

risk you gain 3 base with 1/3.. aka, at 12 you get 4.. personally, as a fond risk player myself, I had no trouble picking this up..
a bit confused here: 4/24/2011 06:04:20


Perrin3088 
Level 44
Report
and also personally, how it says *once minimum exceeded* Imho should be enough of a clue that there is a sort of requirement before these extra armies are put into effect..

perhaps for those less aquianted with how risk army management works precisely, there should be a section in the help about the extra army settings? I just scanned through it, and saw no mention of it.. so perhaps that would alleviate any relevant complaints over the issue, without cluttering the create game pages?
a bit confused here: 4/24/2011 06:07:28


Perrin3088 
Level 44
Report
and for it's near uselessness.. the small earth map *risk map* is designed for base 3, 1/3.. with moderate bonuses.. those extra armies are regularly used in risk *and in this if you ever play with risk rules* that is only a "42" territory map.. now play on a 800 territory map, 1/3 would be highly overpowering, and the *main* use for that rule is to give you a meaning to capturing big bonuses despite wastelands/blockades/abandons being placed in them.. holding 2/3 of a bonus can be ruined with 1 Abandon, with the extra army rule in place.. it could give you an extra army or two depending on it's size..
a bit confused here: 4/24/2011 07:07:46


CuChulainn 
Level 3
Report
I don't often use this setting but I have and I think it's neat. Especially if you reduce all of the bonuses to 0.
a bit confused here: 4/24/2011 14:28:10


NoZone 
Level 6
Report
Perrin, Its been a while since I played Risk, but I seem to remember that bonuses were, in fact, bonuses. That is, they were awarded on top of the armies that you receive for the number of territories. Not as listed here, a "which ever is larger" rule, territory count OR bonuses.

I completely agree that this is a great setting to have, I just think it is confusingly explained and that the setting would be used more if it was more clearly explained.

I personally would find an option of number of territories PLUS bonuses to be a nice setting to have available.
a bit confused here: 4/25/2011 09:21:47


Perrin3088 
Level 44
Report
Nozone, Risk has bonuses as the bonuses in this game are, but they also had a territory rule.. you gained 3 armies/turn + bonuses, or 1 army per 3 territories + bonuses, whichever was higher.. meaning.. If you owned NA save for mexico, and Asia, save for ME, you would gain a total of 19/3 armies aka, 6 armies, without actually controlling any bonuses..
a bit confused here: 4/25/2011 12:30:32


NoZone 
Level 6
Report
I interpret these rules as number of territories/three PLUS bonuses: http://www.hasbro.com/common/instruct/risk.pdf You get one army for every three territories with a minimum of three. Continent bonuses are on top of your armies awarded for territory count. Anyone else read these rules this way? Bonuses are cumulative on you territory count award.
a bit confused here: 4/25/2011 13:54:48


Ace Windu 
Level 56
Report
Yeah I always interpreted the Risk rules the way NoZone does.
a bit confused here: 4/25/2011 16:48:23


Perrin3088 
Level 44
Report
that's exactly what i said, lol.

the base income is the minimum.. warlight just uses a base minimum 5 instead of the minimum 3 that risk uses
a bit confused here: 4/25/2011 17:06:06


Ace Windu 
Level 56
Report
Hang on, I think everyone is saying the same thing. Troll's original post shows that the rule used in WL for extra armies per the amount of territories you own is the exact same as the rule the original Risk game uses. Also, any bonuses under your control adds to your base armies per turn **and** the extra armies you get according to the number of territories you own.

I think that's it.
a bit confused here: 4/25/2011 18:33:29


NoZone 
Level 6
Report
Everybody,
Damn, I think Ace is right and we have all been arguing exactly the same thing. The "minimum" bit is the wording that threw me. I think I never see the armies bonus because I set the minimum to high or the number of territories per army too high. So operator error there. Okay, I am just going to keep my mouth shut now.
Posts 1 - 18 of 18